Malaysia GE: Umno to sack four incumbent lawmakers for contesting on rival tickets

The Umno secretary-general also said a few other party members, including those seen accompanying the four candidates, are now being investigated.


November 8, 2022

PETALING JAYA – Umno has decided to terminate the membership of four big names who went rogue to stand as candidates for rival parties or as Independents, says Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan.

The Umno secretary-general said that the four – Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim, Datuk Zahidi Zainul Abidin, Datuk Seri Ismail Abd Muttalib and Datuk Azhar Ahmad – had violated the party constitution by doing so.

They were not among the GE15 candidates fielded by Umno, in an announcement made by party president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

“Expelling the four is in line with Clause 20.11 of the Umno constitution which states that ‘a member who wins contesting and leaves the party, or contests as an independent candidate or for a rival party in a parliamentary or state election will have his or her membership terminated automatically’.

“With the termination of their memberships, all their posts at Umno division levels will now be held by the respective deputy chiefs.

“A few other members – including those seen accompanying these four candidates for the nomination process are assumed to have supported the candidates of rival parties – are now being investigated before further action is taken,” said Ahmad.

Shahidan and Ismail are defending the Arau and Maran parliamentary seats respectively under the Perikatan Nasional banner, Zahidi is standing as an Independent to defend his parliamentary seat in Padang Besar while Azhar is standing in the Titi Tinggi state seat.

scroll to top