GE15: Young voters more open to listening to candidates, says Selangor MCA chief

Datuk Ng Chok Sin also said many seem to be fed up with Pakatan Harapan's state government's unfulfilled promises.


November 18, 2022

KUALA LUMPUR – YOUNG voters are more open to listening to what GE15 candidates have to offer, irrespective of the party or coalition they represent, says Selangor MCA chief.

“During my campaigning rounds with some MCA candidates in Selangor, I observed that young voters are more willing to accept our candidates’ election materials,” said Datuk Ng Chok Sin.

“They will look at our candidates’ manifesto and biodata, and listen to what we have to offer.

“This is a sign that young voters are getting more mature in their thinking.”

Ng said many seem to be fed up with Pakatan Harapan’s state government’s unfulfilled promises.

MCA, which is a Barisan Nasional component party, is contesting eight parliamentary seats in Selangor.

They are: Selayang, Ampang, Pandan, Bangi, Subang, Petaling Jaya, Damansara and Klang.

“All the MCA candidates are professionals; for example, Ivone Low (Ampang) and Tan Gim Tuan (Damansara) are lawyers,” said Ng.

“If we are given the mandate, our candidates will stay in their constituencies and serve the people.

“I urge people to vote according to the candidates’ profiles, the service they can offer and give MCA candidates a chance.”

He also reminded voters to check their voting details early and the weather forecast for polling day on Nov 19.

He recommended that people cast their votes early as rain is expected later in the day.

Ng was speaking to reporters after visiting the Subang Jaya operations room for Barisan’s Subang parliamentary seat candidate, Dr Kow Cheong Wei.

The Subang stop was the last of the eight parliamentary seat visits Ng had carried out over the past two weeks.

Ng, who is also Sepang MCA division chairman, said he would spend the next few days campaigning for Barisan’s Sepang candidate Anuar Basiran.

Incumbent Wong Chen (Pakatan Harapan-PKR) is defending the Subang seat against Kow (Barisan Nasional-MCA) and Ang Hiang Ni (Perikatan Nasional-Gerakan).

scroll to top