Ministers in Anwar’s new Cabinet

The reshuffle is expected to help strengthen the government as a few ministers have come under fire for perceived poor performance while others said experienced leaders need to come on board.


The reshuffle is taking place a year after the unity government headed by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim came into power. PHOTO: UNSPLASH

December 12, 2023

PUTRAJAYA – Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s new Cabinet line-up includes:

  • Finance Minister: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim
  • Finance Minister II: Datuk Seri Amiz Hamzah Azizan
  • Deputy Finance Minister: Lim Hui Ying
  • Rural and Regional Development Minister: Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, also Deputy Prime Minister
  • Deputy Rural and Regional Development Minister: Datuk Rubiah Wang
  • Energy Transition and Public Utility Minister (new portfolio): Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, also Deputy Prime Minister and responsible for Sabah and Sarawak affaors
  • Deputy Energy Transition and Public Utility Minister: Akmal Nasrullah Mohd Nasir
  • Deputy Agriculture and Food Security Minister: Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup
  • Deputy Local Government Development Minister: Datuk Aiman Athirah Sabu
  • Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan
  • Digital Minister (new portfolio): Gobind Singh Deo
  • Health Minister: Datuk Seri Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad
  • Deputy Works Minister: Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan
  • Defence Minister: Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin
  • Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister: Datuk Mohammad Yusof Apdal
  • Deputy Women, Family and Community Development Minister: Dautk Seri Dr Noraini Ahmad
  • Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Law and Institutional Reform): M. Kulasegaran
  • Natural Resources and Sustainability Minister (new portfolio): Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad
  • Deputy Natural Resources and Sustainability Minister: Datuk Seri Huang Tiong Sii
  • Deputy Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development Minister: Datuk Ramanan Ramakrishnan
  • Higher Education Minister: Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir
  • Deputy Higher Education Minister: Datuk Mustapha Yunus Sakmud
  • Communications Minister (split portfolio): Fahmi Fadzil
  • Deputy Communications Minister: Teo Nie Ching
  • Education Minister: Fadhlina Sidek
  • Deputy Education Minister: Wong Kah Woh
  • Deputy Unity Minister: Saraswathy Kandasami

Anwar also announced that there will be no more Minister for Sabah and Sarawak Affairs, Deputy Prime Minister Fadillah Yusof to look into this porfolio.

scroll to top