Vietnam grants e-visas to all foreign arrivals, extends unilateral visa-free stay durations for 13 countries

Prior to this decision, the country has only been issuing 30-day single-entry e-visas to citizens from 80 countries.

Viet Nam News

Viet Nam News



Foreign tourists visiting Ben Thanh Market, District 1, HCM City. PHOTO: VNA/VNS

August 16, 2023

HÀ NỘI — The Vietnamese Government has decided to issue e-visas to all foreign arrivals at 52 ports of entry into Việt Nam starting from August 15, according to the latest Resolution No. 127/NQ-CP.

Prior to this decision, the country has only been issuing 30-day single-entry e-visas to citizens from 80 countries.

The new e-visa, issued by the Việt Nam Immigration Department (under the Ministry of Public Security) to foreign arrivals through the electronic payment system, would be valid for multiple entries within 90 days.

The entry points include the 13 airports, such as Nội Bài International Airport in the capital city Hà Nội, Tân Sơn Nhất International Airport in HCM City, Cam Ranh Airport (Khánh Hoà Province), Đà Nẵng Airport (Đà Nẵng City), Cát Bi Airport (Hải Phòng City), Cần Thơ Airport (Cần Thơ City), Phú Quốc Airport (Kiên Giang Province), Phú Bài Airport (Thừa Thiên-Huế Province), Vân Đồn Airport (Quảng Ninh Province), Thọ Xuân Airport (Thanh Hoá Province), Đồng Hới Airport (Quảng Bình Province), Phù Cát Airport (Bình Định), Liên Khương Airport (Lâm Đồng Province).

16 land entrances include international border gates of Tây Trang (Điện Biên Province), Móng Cái (Quảng Ninh), Hữu Nghị (Lạng Sơn Province), Lào Cai (Lào Cai Province), Na Mèo (Thanh Hoá), Nậm Cắn (Nghệ An Province), Cầu Treo (Hà Tĩnh Province), La Lay and Lao Bảo (Quảng Trị Province), Bờ Y (Kon Tum Province), Mộc Bài and Xa Mát (Tây Ninh Province), Tịnh Biên (An Giang Province), Vĩnh Xương International Land and Waterway Border Gate (An Giang), and Hà Tiên (Kiên Giang).

13 seaports include Hòn Gai and Cẩm Phả ports (Quảng Ninh), Hải Phòng (Hải Phòng), Nghi Sơn (Thanh Hoá), Vũng Áng (Hà Tĩnh), Chân Mây (Thừa Thiên-Huế), Đà Nẵng (Đà Nẵng), Nha Trang (Khánh Hoà), Quy Nhơn (Bình Định Province), Dung Quất (Quảng Ngãi), Vũng Tàu (Bà Rịa-Vũng Tàu Province), Hồ Chí Minh City Seaport (HCM City), and Dương Đông (Kiên Giang).

The Government assigned the Prime Minister to direct relevant agencies to take necessary measures to ensure national sovereignty, social security, order and safety during the implementation of the Resolution.

Also, the Government has issued Resolution No. 128/NQ-CP amending Resolution No. 32/NQ-CP dated March 15, 2022, regarding visa exemption for citizens of certain countries.

Accordingly, citizens from Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the UK, Russia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Belarus could stay in Việt Nam for 45 days instead of 15 days since their entry, regardless of passport type or purpose of entry if they meet entry requirements in line with Việt Nam law.

The Resolution takes effect from August 15. — VNS

scroll to top